Manager: Sonia Weston
Deputy Manager: Sally Rogers
Press & Publicity: Rachel Lawrence-Hyde

The Management Committee

President: Mr John Bird
Chairman: Mrs Pam Burn
Minutes  Secretary: Mr Tony James
Mrs Elizabeth Barber
Mr Peter Chapman
Mr Barry Neale
Mrs Sue Pike
Mr Bob Thorogood

(Brief biographies of Trustees, with their photos, can be found at the
end of this Section)

(Treasurer responsibilities: The Settlement pays an accountant to provide professional financial advice in respect of charity financial legislation, tax and other matters and to complete the Settlement year end accounts.  This work informs the deliberations of the F & G P – see below.)

The Letchworth Settlement is a Registered Charity and is governed by its Trustees who form a Management Committee and are elected annually at the AGM. The day to day running of the Settlement is delegated to the Manager and other staff, whose function is to see that the Management Committee’s strategic objectives are achieved, and to ensure the smooth running of the Settlement.

The Settlement has a number of sub-committees with responsibility for specific functions within the organisation.  These are:

Finance and General Purpose  (F & G P) sub Committee
This sub committee has responsibility for Finance, IT, HR and legal matters.  The membership of this sub committee comprises:

Peter Chapman  –  Lead
John Bird
Pam Burn
Sonia Weston

Property Maintenance and Development sub Committee
This sub committee looks after all property and maintenance matters, preparing and updating maintenance schedules, planning future works (including furniture and equipment), obtaining planning permissions as necessary, meeting with suppliers and obtaining quotations and overseeing installations.  Members of this sub committee are:

Bob Thorogood  – Lead
Pam Burn
Tony James

Programme sub Committee
This group is responsible for the development of the annual programme of courses, identifying areas of interest and suitable tutors and putting the whole together for printing in time for students to enrol for each new academic year.  Members of this sub committee are:

Peter Chapman
Elizabeth Barber
Tony James
Sonia Weston

Publicity and Marketing sub Committee
This sub committee is responsible for ensuring the right information and messages reach the public and the Membership about the Settlement, identifying new opportunities for marketing and publicity and keeping the image of the Settlement fresh and up-to-date.  Members of this sub committee are:

Pam Burn
Rachel Lawrence-Hyde
Sue Pike

Each of the above sub committees meets regularly throughout the year and reports into the full Management Committee with recommendations.

All Members of the Management Committee are entirely unpaid and receive no fees or disbursements of any kind.

John Bird
A member of the Chartered Institute of Management Accounts who has held several senior international Financial, Marketing and General Management posts in a large UK multi-national company.
Was Treasurer for the Settlement for many years and is now President.

Pam Burn
Prior to becoming Chair of Letchworth Settlement, Pam spent her first 10 years of retirement as a Humanist Celebrant, taking non-religious funerals, weddings and baby namings.  She was also a Humanist Chaplain with Herts Police.  Before her retirement she worked as CEO at the Royal College of Physicians in London, prior to which she was in international banking in Hong Kong for a number of years.  Currently she is also a Trustee of the Letchworth Heritage Foundation. Pam says: “I love the Settlement dearly and I wish to see it survive in good health for many years to come – way beyond its centenary in 2020!”

Tony James
Tony James spent his career in the education sector within Hertfordshire, having moved to the county in 1972 as a disciple of the Garden City movement. He became a Deputy Head of a secondary school in Welwyn Garden City and finished his career in charge of the largest school Sixth Form in the county. He had previously worked for the Cambridge Institute of Education, the Hertfordshire Education Department and also as Education Adviser for BP Oil (UK). Although a geography teacher by training, his principal interests are 20th century history and photography.

Elizabeth Barber
Elizabeth trained as a primary school teacher in the 1970s. After a long gap doing voluntary work, she returned to teaching as a supply teacher. She has always loved writing and has found going on writing courses a valuable way of learning about the craft. After some success writing stories for a comic, she moved on to writing fiction and non-fiction for county and national magazines. Since 2006 she has run ’Get Writing!’ at Letchworth Settlement. Elizabeth holds the Undergraduate Certificate in Creative Writing Part I (Fiction) and Part II (Non fiction) awarded by Cambridge Institute for Continuing Education.

Peter Chapman
Lives in Ashwell. Has been a trustee for 10 years and chairs the Finance and Programme Committees of the Management Committee. A student of art, architecture, music and history at the Settlement. Up until recently Chairman of Governors of a village school. A volunteer with the Garden House Hospice, with a number of roles in the NHS more generally. Has a non-elected position with the NHDC. Plays the clarinet in a traditional jazz band. Always looking for ways to enhance the Settlement’s programme of activities for the benefit of members.

Barry Neale
Before his retirement, Barry  spent his career with the Ministry of Defence, serving in a variety of posts in the UK and overseas, supporting the Armed Forces and our defence industry. He also served as a Magistrate in Bedfordshire for over 30 years, including as chairman of the County Bench, and as a trustee of several Luton-based charities; he was also for a time an elected councillor on Luton Borough Council.

A relative newcomer to Hertfordshire, he now lives in Letchworth, and has been an enthusiastic (if struggling!) student on a number of courses in Nevells Road; he is a strong supporter of The Settlement as a positive social asset in the local community.

Sue Pike
After studying French & German at university, joined a European exhibitions company and was fortunate to work in France, Germany and Switzerland. Subsequently enjoyed  a long and varied career with several large international companies working predominantly in Events Management and Marketing.
Enthusiastic supporter of the Settlement enjoying topics such as literature, art psychology and music as well as attending various courses at the Institute of Continuing Education, Madingley Hall, Cambridge.
Lives in central Hitchin and is involved with the local town-twinning association. Takes full advantage of Hitchin’s close proximity to London to attend the theatre, ballet and art exhibitions as time allows.

Bob Thorogood
41 years with a major international civil engineering and construction company, ultimately as Commercial Director and Chief Quantity Surveyor of its Construction Management arm. 15 years as an Independent Construction Consultant advising on contractual and financial matters for Historic Royal Palaces, the Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors, and Local Councils. Formerly a Fellow of the RICS and of the Chartered Institute of Management.
Interests in Painting and Drawing, wildlife, and travel as well as ancient buildings. Chairman of the Settlement Daytime Art Club
and a member of the Letchworth Art Society.