Honorary Fellowships Awarded at The Settlement

In recognition of their unstinting support and dedication, The Settlement’s Management Committee has awarded its first ever Honorary Fellowships to eight members who, the Committee felt, had exceeded all normal expectations in the performance of their roles.

Those recognised include the last person to hold the post of Warden of the Settlement who continued to work prodigiously for the organisation following his retirement, two former Management Committee Chairs, a retired Manager, a retired tutor and three former Committee Members, two of whom were still volunteering right up to this year despite standing down several years ago!

Our current President has completed 10 years as Treasurer and three as President and though he has kindly agreed to stay on for another three years, the Committee felt it appropriate to award him the Honorary Fellowship now to acknowledge his long and dedicated service.

The Fellowship comes with a special certificate and includes Life Membership and free attendance at any Settlement evening or lunchtime lecture.
Pam Burn, current Chair of the Management Committee explained: “The Settlement has relied heavily on the generosity and support of key individuals who, over the years, have consistently gone above and beyond to ensure our success.

“The award of Honorary Fellowship goes some way to recognise and celebrate the efforts of these big hearted Settlement supporters who have made such a difference.”
Recipients this year are Roy Evans, John Bird, Pat Ellis, Carola Garvie, Pat Large, Val Aitken, Sarah Carrick, and Ken Woodruff.

Pam added: “The Settlement owes a huge debt of gratitude to these people and in several cases, we owe our very survival to their hard work during in some very difficult times. Such commitment is rare but I feel sure there will be others who, in time, will also qualify for what we intend will be a truly meritorious award.”

Comments are closed.